Music Weekly: HOT FUZZ Original Score LP!

Hey All - this week we’ll be releasing our webstore version of David Arnold’s amazing score to HOT FUZZ. The “Chocolate Cornetto” version of the record was event exclusive, but those who were unable to make it to the Con have access to the “Crown Ale Colored” version of the record (similar to the “Winchester Ale” version of SHAUN OF THE DEAD, our previous release in the Cornetto trilogy).

In case you missed it, we are also selling the amazing mix-tape soundtrack to Charlize Theron's kick-ass new film, ATOMIC BLONDE.

We have three distributed titles for you this week: SONIC MANIA is the newest release by our friends at Data Discs, and One Way Static continue there exclusive colored vinyl releases with a brand new POPOL VUH re-issue, For You and Me (limited to 300 copies), and a super limited reissue of THE BURNING on exclusive splatter vinyl.

HOT FUZZ, along with our distributed titles, will go on sale this Wednesday at NOON (CT).

Hot Fuzz - Original Motion Picture Score LP.
Music Composed by David Arnold. Artwork by Jock. Liner notes by Edgar Wright and David Arnold. Pressed on 180 Gram Crown-Ale colored vinyl (also available on 180 Gram black vinyl). $25

Edgar Wright's sophomore film turns 10 years old this year, and we are honored to continue our celebration of his iconic film trilogy with the premiere release of David Arnold's score to HOT FUZZ.

Never before released in its entirety, David Arnold’s score for HOT FUZZ plays it straight. The world of Nicholas Angel (Simon Pegg) and Danny Butterman (Nick Frost) is filled with stylized shoot-outs, colorful characters, and rapidfire comedic beats; the music of HOT FUZZ takes the sincere approach. It brings the heroes (and their many, many villains) into the action films that eventually crash headfirst into the peaceful idyllic village of Sandford.

The title track, ‘Theme from Hot Fuzz,’ feels like a retro futurist version of a ’60s cop show - all urgent beats and huge orchestral flourishes that make you feel like you are in the action. ‘The Hot Fuzz Suite (Hotter and Fuzzier)’ is 23 minutes of utterly spellbinding music which travels the path from beautiful Spanish guitar flourishes to Arnold’s signature orchestral techno stylings. David Arnold went back to the master tapes for us on this and pieced the entire soundtrack together; both David and Edgar were involved in the approvals.

Featuring original artwork by Jock, continuing his Cornetto Trilogy series (with companion artwork to his previous take on SHAUN OF THE DEAD), mastered for vinyl at Air Studios UK, and pressed on 180 Gram Crown Ale Colored Vinyl (also available on 180 Gram Black).


Atomic Blonde - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 2XLP. Original Artwork by Ron Lesser. Pressed on 180 Gram Blue and Yellow Swirl Vinyl. Also available on Black Vinyl. Note: this item ships mid-August 2017. $35

A cool film needs a cool soundtrack, right? And none come cooler than ATOMIC BLONDE. A double LP filled to the brim with needledrops of some of the '80s best known cuts, as well as some under the radar gems, and a smattering of brand new tracks recorded especially for the movie.

David Bowie, George Michael, The Clash, Nena, Siouxsie and the Banshees, and A Flock Of Seagulls of course need no introduction, and they all contribute absolutely killer songs here. Rubbing shoulders with these A-listers are lesser known acts such as Re-Flex, whose track ‘The Politics of Dancing' was a minor hit in the UK and is a pure '80s synth-pop banger from start to finish. After The Fire went from playing uninspired prog rock to recording the should-have-been classic ‘Der Kommissar,’ full of funky guitar licks and a chorus so hook-laden it should be illegal. ‘Voices Carry’ by American new wave band 'Til Tuesday features Aimee Mann on vocals and is an all-timer everyone needs on vinyl.


Sonic Mania - Original Video Game Soundtrack LP.
Released on Data Discs Records. Music by Tee Lopes. Pressed on 180g Sonic Blue Vinyl (Also available on 180g Black Vinyl). $27

Just in time for Sonic's 26th Anniversary, and to celebrate the launch of his newest adventure, SEGA and Data Discs are proud to announce the official SONIC MANIA vinyl album.

The SONIC MANIA LP features 16 new tracks by composer Tee Lopes, as well as new gatefold art featuring Sonic, Tails and Knuckles exploring the lush vistas of Green Hill Zone Act 2. The vinyl album is a must-have for any fan or Sonic music aficionado, and a gorgeous addition to any Sonic collection.

Pressed on 180g translucent “Sonic Blue” vinyl and packaged in a heavyweight gatefold sleeve with UV spot varnish, this release features new and exclusive artwork, along with a printed inner sleeve featuring an array of characters from the game. It also includes a download code of the album in both lossy and lossless formats. Also available on 180g Black vinyl.

Popol Vuh - For You and Me. Released on One Way Static Records. Pressed on Black and Silver swirl vinyl (300 copies only). $25

Out of print since 1991 and never released on vinyl outside of Europe, Popol Vuh's For You and Me is now available as a gorgeously packaged deluxe vinyl edition. Pressed on colored vinyl and strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide (black & clear swirl vinyl), For You And Me was the band's 17th album (!) and now - 28 years later - holds up more than ever. While decidedly new age and world music in sound, this album has style and grace, and the updated sonic quality makes it a pleasure to listen to. The light pieces combined with their timeless dramatic signature sound, the majestic piano chords, the profound lyrics and the crescendos of emotions set this album apart from the banal new age mainstream. The authentic Popul Vuh spirituality permeates on every track here; prepare for goose bumps and a divine moment. In For You and Me, they created a modern day classic, easily their best album of the '90s.

The Burning - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.
Released on One Way Static Records. Music by Rick Wakeman. Black & Orange vinyl (limited to 200 only). $25

The iconic score for THE BURNING was composed and performed by Rick Wakeman, an English composer, keyboardist, songwriter, author and actor who needs little introduction. He is best known for being in the progressive rock band Yes, and for his solo albums released in the 1970s. Wakeman’s early credits include playing on David Bowie’s "Space Oddity" and on songs by T.Rex, Elton John, Cat Stevens, Lou Reed and Black Sabbath (among others). He also composed numerous soundtracks and additional music for films like CREEPSHOW 2 (1987), CRIMES OF PASSION (1984) and THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA (1990).

Rick delivers a SCARY soundtrack to go with the film, even paranoid-sounding at times, contrasted with beautifully delicate piano work which crashes into the powerful pulsating synth driven sections that are Rick Wakeman’s trademark. Jazz components mixed with eerie ambient electronics makes this an essential release for fans of horror movie soundtracks. Now... get ready to experience the sound of fear.

Be The First To Know

Sign up to receive our emails and get first dibs on new arrivals and advance notice on everything we do.