Music Weekly: MAGNOLIA Original Soundtrack 3XLP

Happy New Year, everyone! We hope you had a joyous, relaxing holiday season.

In celebration of Paul Thomas Anderson's masterful forthcoming film PHANTOM THREAD, Mondo Music is kicking off 2018 with the premiere vinyl release of one of our favorite soundtracks and scores, MAGNOLIA, featuring songs by Aimee Mann and score by Jon Brion. We also have two distributed titles this week: Klaus Schulze's La Vie Electronique on On Way Static Records (which is actually on sale now), and Brass Hearse on Burning Witches Records.

As usual, new releases go on sale on Wednesdays at NOON (CT).

Magnolia - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 3XLP. Songs by Aimee Mann. Score by Jon Brion. Artwork by João Ruas. Pressed on 180 Gram Sky Blue, Chance Of Rain, and Sunshine Gold colored vinyl. $45

Mondo is proud to present the premiere vinyl release of the soundtrack and score to Paul Thomas Anderson's MAGNOLIA as a three LP set.

MAGNOLIA is an epic of interconnected stories about love and loss, abuse and forgiveness, over the course of a seemingly normal day in Los Angeles, coming together in a stormy, emotional conclusion that is still as shocking and effective today as it was 18 years ago.

Following his breakout film BOOGIE NIGHTS, a film full of period accurate needle drops (and a fairly popular soundtrack album), Anderson took a much different approach with MAGNOLIA. He brought in musician Jon Brion - who would go on to compose PUNCH-DRUNK LOVE - to pen his first solo film score, and worked with singer/songwriter Aimee Mann to craft original songs based on the film's script, eventually incorporating some of her lyrics into the dialogue in the script.

The soundtrack helped amplify Aimee Mann's solo career; she self-released her essential album "Bachelor No. 2 or, the Last Remains of the Dodo" shortly after the release of this film, and was finally able to break away from major label ties. Similarly Jon Brion quickly became a film composition staple shortly after MAGNOLIA's release. After PUNCH-DRUNK, he composed the scores to ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND and I HEART HUCKABEES. Both Aimee and Jon's contributions elevate the already unique three hour ensemble drama to a dark, modern take on a classic film musical.

Available for the first time in a single release - and also for the first time on vinyl - the soundtrack and score to MAGNOLIA is spread across three LPs (Disc One: Songs by Aimee Mann, Discs Two and Three: Score by Jon Brion). Featuring stunning new artwork from João Ruas and pressed on 180 gram colored vinyl (also available on 180 gram black vinyl).


DISTRIBUTED TITLESKlaus Schulze, La Vie Electronique Vol 1.0. Released on On Way Static Records. Available as an exclusive color vinyl variant (300 copies white vinyl). $29

Klaus Schulze is a German electronic music pioneer, composer and musician that needs very little introduction. In the late '60s and early '70s he was a member of several iconic bands such as Tangerine Dream, The Cosmic Jokers and Ash Ra Tempel. His proto moog-synthesizer work is regarded as a milestone in electronic music, and over the decades he's released landmark albums in genres catalogued as ‘Ambient’ and ‘Electronic.’ He has also composed film scores such as BODY LOVE (1977), BARRACUDA (1978), NEXT OF KIN (1982), and ANGST (1983). His best known song ‘Freeze’ has been used in films like MANHUNTER (1986) and more recently in Sofia Coppola’s THE BLING RING from 2013.

In 2009, producer Klaus D. Mueller and Schulze began releasing La Vie Electronique ("The Electronic Life"), a series of sets that collected rare sought-after early works and unreleased tracks put in chronological sequence. These sets contain some of the best music Klaus ever created; early '70s masterworks that will appeal to both fans and collectors alike.

Now available for the first time on vinyl, One Way Static Records presents the first volume in their new archival series ‘La Vie Electronique’. This volume (1.0) focuses on the years 1968-1971 and is spread over two glorious LPs containing +78 minutes of Klaus Schulze rarities. This deluxe vinyl set also comes with an insert containing extensive liner notes.

On sale here.

Brass Hearse, Brass Hearse.
Released on Burning Witches Records. Limited edition single sided black vinyl, with screen printed image on the B side. Download card is included with 2 extra bonus tracks. Limited to only 250 worldwide. $21

The goth soaked electronic rock of Brass Hearse’s debut album is here to take over your dark souls and have a ball!

Brass Hearse is made up of Wolfmen of Mars (L Liberty, J Clapp, N Merryweather) and the vocalist from Ice Dragon (R. Rochondo), and they have created an album that swirls with beauty, darkness and epic choruses. The band says, “if we did this right, these songs should give you the feelings of death, romance and a good fucking time”

Be The First To Know

Sign up to receive our emails and get first dibs on new arrivals and advance notice on everything we do.