Music Weekly: Michael Giacchino and his Nouvelle Modernica Orchestra - Travelogue Volume 1 2XLP

The transmission of the interstellar message has been identified! This week we are beyond proud to present a truly wondrous album by legendary, Academy Award®-winning composer Michael Giacchino and his Nouvelle Modernica Orchestra titled TRAVELOGUE VOL. 1.

We've been releasing the scores of Michael Giacchino on this label for years: Jurassic World, Speed Racer, Lost, Inside Out, and Ratatouille, to name just a few. Today we get to be the home of his debut non-soundtrack work, a gloriously inventive, endlessly enjoyable concept album that we've been obsessed with since he shared it with us this summer.

You can check out the premiere single from the album, titled SIDEREAL DAY: 2, on our Youtube page, and watch the animated teaser video for the whole album here.

The album is available for pre-order now through all digital retailers. Please pre-add it now so you don't miss out on the whole album when it releases on October 30th.


Michael Giacchino and his Nouvelle Modernica Orchestra - Travelogue Vol. 1 2XLP

Death Waltz Originals is proud to be the home for Academy Award®-winning composer Michael Giacchino's debut non-soundtrack release, a masterfully constructed concept album titled TRAVELOGUE VOL 1.

TRAVELOGUE VOL 1 by Michael Giacchino and his Nouvelle Modernica Orchestra takes the listener into a journey of both space and time, unlike anything they've heard before.

The record follows a space traveller seeking solace on a planet that isn’t as broken and lost as her own distant world. Upon discovering earth, the story unfolds throughout its 11 captivating tracks. To say more would be to spoil the journey and the listener's interpretation.

The songs have a beautiful, timeless, hazy feeling that transports the listener to their own imagination. Musically, it’s indebted to the easy listening wonders of such legendary musicians as Martin Denny and Lex Baxter (both of whom pioneered the lounge music of the '50s & '60s). While Michael continues the tradition of using driving jazz-infused rhythms, he updates this timeless sound with synths, samples & a full string orchestra bringing it into 2020 and making it his own. His melodies are incredible as always, weaving in and out of tracks with a boundless fluidity, and the record is so much fun you’ll find yourself listening to it again the minute the needle hits the run-out groove of side 4. 

The cover artwork by Henry Abrams complements the music perfectly; its effortless beauty is something to get lost in as you listen. Truly wondrous.

Sit back and let Michael Giacchino and his Nouvelle Modernica Orchestra transport you to a place both familiar and strange as you let the sounds of yesteryear take you into the future. 

Michael Giacchino and his Nouvelle Modernica Orchestra - Travelogue Volume 1 2XLP. Album Artwork by Henry Abrams. Additional artwork by Max Pescherine. Pressed on 2x 180 Gram colored vinyl housed inside a gatefold sleeve with printed inner sleeve and download card. Expected to ship in November 2020. Ships worldwide. $35. Buy on Bandcamp here. Listen to the album here.


RATATOUILLE - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 2XLP. Music by Michael Giacchino. Artwork by Nicole Gustafsson. Liner notes by Brian Satterwhite. Pressed on 180 Gram Colored vinyl. Expected to ship in 3 - 5 days. Ships worldwide. $35.


LOST: We Have To Go Back - The Live Concert 3XLP. Music composed and conducted by Michael Giacchino. Original Artwork by JC Richard. Liner Notes by Carlton Cuse, Damon Lindelof, Michael Giacchino, and Tim Grieving. Pressed on 3X 180 Gram Colored vinyl. Expected to ship in 3 - 5 days. Ships Worldwide. $50

Be The First To Know

Sign up to receive our emails and get first dibs on new arrivals and advance notice on everything we do.