Metavari - ABSURDA - Music Reimagined in the Short Films of David Lynch LP

Almost Gone
Distributed title

Metavari Metavari, the moniker of American composer and electronic musician Nathaniel David Utesch, introduces his new album: ABSURDA: Music Reimagined in the Short Films of David Lynch.

The album contains eleven original tracks, each of which have been scored in unison to a collection of short works from filmmaker David Lynch. Spanning Lynch’s career, the films present a sampler that pulls from student work (e.g., ‘Six Figures Getting Sick’ and ‘The Alphabet’) to contemporary pieces like the title track, ‘Absurda’, and his now infamous animations: ‘Industrial Soundscape’ and ‘Dream #7’.

‘ABSURDA’ plays through as thoughtfully as the rest of Metavari’s synth-heavy catalog, but there’s an evolution here that explores a deeper level of experimentation. It is a chaotic collage of sound, rhythm, and melody; this album weaves through both harmonious passages and abrasive acousmatic sound. After witnessing the almost “plunderphonic” execution of MIDI sequencing and percussion utilizing PCM synths and foley samples, it’s clear that Metavari has found himself on a new path as he carves his niche in electronic music.

Metavari describes the process as a “scribbling on top” of Lynch’s films: “I’ve followed David Lynch’s career my entire adult life; cherished pages from a series of love letters that feel like they were written just for me. This project is the semblance of what I’ve scribbled, in my own language, on top of those letters, as I write back to the man who has inspired me more than he’ll ever know.”

The album comes packaged in a deluxe reverse-board printed jacket with a custom die-cut center hole, also includes a digital download card and special 4-panel insert containing synth patch diagrams & instructions for dropping the needle in unison with the ten films. This LP (on CLEAR vinyl) is strictly limited to 1000 copies worldwide. Released exclusively for Record Store Day (UK & Europe) 2019.

Composer Metavari
Label One Way Static
Expected to ship in 7-10 business days. Please note that items will be shipped together once all items in the order are in-hand and ready to ship, including pre-order products. Have questions? Please review our FAQs.


Product includes

1. Six Figures Getting Sick (Six Times)

2. Absurd Encounter With Fear

3. The Alphabet

4. Theme From The Grandmother

5. Industrial Soundscape (Excerpt)

6. Absurda

7. Premonitions Following An Evil Deed

8. Dream #7 (Extended)

9. The 3 Rs Epilogue For The 3 Rs

10. Ballerina, Part 1

11. Ballerina, Part 2